Total Pageviews

Showing posts with label users. Show all posts
Showing posts with label users. Show all posts

Sunday, June 3, 2012

Gmail users accuse Google of sending e-mails in their name

Some Gmail users are disturbed that Google appears to be sending e-mails using their names. The messages encourage friends of theirs not on Gmail to use Google products.

We are not only the product these days. We are also the product marketers.

Yet some Gmail users have, in recent days, become increasingly upset that Google appears to be using their names in order to sell Google products to non-Gmail users.

A Google forum discussion offers the spontaneous distaste of users who claim that Google has co-opted them as salespersons.
"STOP IT!" reads a post from someone with the handle Mrcheck. "At no point did I say it was ok for google to send email messages to my non-gmail contacts recommending they sign up for gmail."

The contents of the e-mails are reproduced on the forum. The subject line is "(My Name) wants to chat."

Like This 4 | 0 Comments

View the original article here

Monday, March 5, 2012

'Password1' is the No.1 Password Employed by Business Users

The business world has a password problem—starting with the fact that the No. 1 computer password employed by business users is, wait for it: "Password1". Unfortunately, that's just the most cringe-worthy example of bad enterprise security cited by Trustwave in its recently released Global Security Report for 2012.

Why "Password1"? Because "it satisfies the default Microsoft Active Directory complexity setting," the IT security research firm noted. In other words, it's got a capitalized letter, a number, and the requisite number of characters to qualify under basic password security settings.

The password problem is just one of the security issues businesses are running up against in an increasingly hostile cyber-world, according to Trustwave. Other key findings related to hacking incidents and intrusion investigations at companies researched by Trustwave include:

Like This 3 | 2 Comments

View the original article here

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Future iOS versions to ask users before uploading contact data

Recently, social networking application Path came under fire for anonymously uploading contact data to its servers without the user's permission. This is a common practice among a lot of popular apps such as Instagram, Facebook, Foursquare, etc., which use this data to find other people you know who may also be using that service.

But even though Path later apologized and deleted the data from their servers, and also issued an update that explicitly asks for your permission before uploading your contacts, the issue continued to escalate, until it eventually reached Apple.

So now Apple has come out and said they will be releasing an update to iOS that will ask the user through a pop-up notification if he or she wants to share their contact information with the application. This will be similar to the location notification that pops up in iOS when apps ask for location information. This will ensure that no app will ever upload your contact information without your explicit permission.

Apple did not comment on when this update will be released.

Source


View the original article here

Sunday, February 19, 2012

Future iOS versions to ask users before uploading contact data

Recently, social networking application Path came under fire for anonymously uploading contact data to its servers without the user's permission. This is a common practice among a lot of popular apps such as Instagram, Facebook, Foursquare, etc., which use this data to find other people you know who may also be using that service.

But even though Path later apologized and deleted the data from their servers, and also issued an update that explicitly asks for your permission before uploading your contacts, the issue continued to escalate, until it eventually reached Apple.

So now Apple has come out and said they will be releasing an update to iOS that will ask the user through a pop-up notification if he or she wants to share their contact information with the application. This will be similar to the location notification that pops up in iOS when apps ask for location information. This will ensure that no app will ever upload your contact information without your explicit permission.

Apple did not comment on when this update will be released.

Source


View the original article here

Future iOS versions to ask users before uploading contact data

Recently, social networking application Path came under fire for anonymously uploading contact data to its servers without the user's permission. This is a common practice among a lot of popular apps such as Instagram, Facebook, Foursquare, etc., which use this data to find other people you know who may also be using that service.

But even though Path later apologized and deleted the data from their servers, and also issued an update that explicitly asks for your permission before uploading your contacts, the issue continued to escalate, until it eventually reached Apple.

So now Apple has come out and said they will be releasing an update to iOS that will ask the user through a pop-up notification if he or she wants to share their contact information with the application. This will be similar to the location notification that pops up in iOS when apps ask for location information. This will ensure that no app will ever upload your contact information without your explicit permission.

Apple did not comment on when this update will be released.

Source


View the original article here

Friday, February 17, 2012

Future iOS versions to ask users before uploading contact data

Recently, social networking application Path came under fire for anonymously uploading contact data to its servers without the user's permission. This is a common practice among a lot of popular apps such as Instagram, Facebook, Foursquare, etc., which use this data to find other people you know who may also be using that service.

But even though Path later apologized and deleted the data from their servers, and also issued an update that explicitly asks for your permission before uploading your contacts, the issue continued to escalate, until it eventually reached Apple.

So now Apple has come out and said they will be releasing an update to iOS that will ask the user through a pop-up notification if he or she wants to share their contact information with the application. This will be similar to the location notification that pops up in iOS when apps ask for location information. This will ensure that no app will ever upload your contact information without your explicit permission.

Apple did not comment on when this update will be released.

Source


View the original article here